Telling your doctor for the first time (anxiety & Emetophobia)

Hey guys,

Finally, a kind of exciting post! None of that depressed and anxious feeling generating through my words. I feel extremely elated and happy. I went to the doctor today regarding a health issue of mine (I have an auto-immune disease), but I wanted to bring to her attention the fact that I’m anxious almost ALL the time, and I believe it’s because of this phobia. 

I couldn’t tell her quick enough as I’ve never truly told anyone and to be honest, it’s like a breathe of fresh air telling someone who isn’t judgemental. I just blurted out my whole anxiety story and the phobia. I didn’t give full details, I mean I’m restricted to a time slot. I was beyond nervous but it was like a huge weight had been lifted off me once I said what I had to say.

She didn’t really focus on the phobia as much as she did on anxiety. She said to work on anxiety and then the phobia might seem less scary and less a part of my life which makes sense. So I’ve been told to do 15 minutes of walking morning and night every day, and to try and do some more deep breathing. I’ve always known about these ways to reduce anxiety, but now that a medical professional has told me to do it, I feel like it’s more legit and that I’m not only doing it for me, I’m doing it for her and to prove that I can change. She said if that doesn’t all work out to come back and we’ll try something else. It was also a suggestion to go and see the counsellors at uni (which is what I’ve been looking into), so it seems I’m on track with everything. I’m really glad I spoke to someone about this.

I’m very happy and it feels like I’m really going to change this time. 

Tell me what you think :)